Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Tips for DM
I've decided to share some tips for the rc_deathmatch map I've learned by myself or from watching other players. I by no means declare that I am a professional on the subject, but since I've played Ricochet for a while I believe I may have some pointers that others haven't realized. Everything I say is of course open to debate and please feel free to add to this discussion. My target audience is all of you arena players who always look at the rc_deathmatch with some wonder of adventure or fear of butt-kicking by us regular DM'ers.

1. Regular arena players know the benefit of never landing in the same spot when coming off a certain jump. Knowing how to utilize the strafe keys while in mid-air will avoid you being decapitated by regular DM'ers. I've seen it too many times how newcomers wonder in amazement how regulars keep on slicing them from across the map. If you always land in the same spot coming off a particular jump, the only thing other players have to worry about is the timing of their shots. When you come off a jump in differeing directions, regulars will have to worry about timing AND direciton.

2. Since I started out in DM, I will have to assume that the greatest challenge in transitioning from arena to deathmatch maps is the number of users. DM is usually "enjoyed" with 4-10 users playing at once. There are NO breaks in DM like there are in arena so you always have to be aware of your surroundings; where you're going, where you just came from, and what your next move should be. Since my recent visits to arena map servers, a few people have commented that I'm "relentless" or "insane... this is because I'm used to the much quicker pace of DM maps. Join a large DM server when there's lots of players on ( >6 ) and you'll learn very quickly to aim at multiple targets. Practice makes friggin' perfect!